“I’ll take you out for your birthday, but it has to cost less than $50.”

In the preceding events, (where I declared myself broke once again), I had forgotten about something important that I had to do this week.

I had to take one of my oldest and dearest friends out for a birthday dinner.

All I had managed to save in this debacle was a fifty dollar bill, so I knew I had to make sure that the dinner for the both of us cost less than $50.  So the anxiety that I had over her picking which restaurant she wanted to go to (I had previously told her to choose where she wanted to eat).  She did pick one (3 Brewers), it was a cute laid-back restaurant in the middle of downtown Ottawa that had a huge selection of beer…yay.

Me being me, I went to the website and I downloaded a PDF of the menu and I studied (as I usually do before I eat at a new restaurant) and I calculated whether or not two meals would come up to $50.

When my friend ordered her food, I almost squeaked.  She ordered a pulled pork sandwich and a sample of 5 different beers, but you know, I kept my composure.  After I asked for the bills, I sat there in silence waiting for the waitress to bring me the bill.

It was $44.

Thank you God.

Leave a Reply

